Scam on domain names

Jun 9th, 2010 | By Roma | Category: Features

Today I received a weird message in my inbox pretending someone in Asia (Mr. John Wang) was about to register several e-romagnoli domains with different suffixes. Although it looked like a nice, informative and risk less message, I didn’t even bother answering.

Of course, this is a scam! All they want from me is to purchase these domains using their platform, at a very high price.  It is indeed very unlikely that anybody is trying to register any e-romagnoli.* domain,  and Mr. John Wang probably doesn’t even exist. On top of that, I assume they’ll ask me to pay with bank wire, MoneyGram or Western Union and never give me the domains in the end.

So be careful with these unsolicited messages and remember to use you credit card for your online shopping. Paypal is a good option too, as it doubles the security: you get protected from Paypal and from the credit card company that you use to transfer the funds thought Paypal. However with bank wires,  MoneyGram or Western Union, you’ll have absolutely no way of filing a dispute and claiming your money back in case you get scammed. I advise you to have a look at the secure payment options page on ebay as a reference for online payment good practices.

Here is a the full text:

From: Judy <Judy@domainasia.cc>
Sent: Wed, 9/6/2010 17:13
Subject: (e-romagnoli)Notice of Domain Names Property Protection 2010-6-9
Dear Sir/Madam
I’m sorry to disturb you so abrupt. We are a domain name registration service company in Asia,

On 8th June. we received a formal application submitted by Mr. John Wang who wanted to use the keyword “e-romagnoli” to register the Internet Brand and with suffix such as .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/.asia/ domain names.
After our initial examination, we found that these domain names to be applied for registration  are same as your  domain name and trademark. We aren’t sure whether you have any relation with him. Because these domain names would produce possible dispute, now we have hold down his registration, but if we do not get your company’s an reply in the next 5 working days, we will approve his application

As authorized anti-cybersquatting organization we hereby suspect Mr. John Wang is a domain investor. so we need you to attach importance to this issue.

In order to handle this issue better, Please contact us by Fax ,Telephone or Email as soon as possible.
Yours sincerely         2010-6-9
Judy
Oversea Marketing Manager
——————————————-
Room 1008,
International Building,
No.38 YueLong road,NanTong City
Tel:+86(513)85330968
Fax:+86(513)80260081
Email:Judy@domainasia.cc
Website: www.domainasia.cc

15 comments
Leave a comment »

  1. Good Morning,
    I got the same thing regarding my domain. I am forwarding mine to my service provider and to the federal internet scam investigators.

    Thank you for posting. It smelled like a scam. I was searching to see if any one else had a similar experience.
    JN

  2. Considering the number of hits on this post since yesterday, be sure we’re not the only ones!

    Roma.

  3. Yea – I received almost the exact same message.
    Thanks for the heads up!

  4. Yes, same message.
    I just submitted this to snopes.

  5. Just got notice of a message like this exactly from a client of mine.

  6. Hi, I just received exactely the same massage but with
    14th June instead of 8th June.

  7. Same here – thanks for the post

  8. II just received the same one today – it caught me off guard I did get a little nervous, but I feel better now.

  9. I got one as well, same name John Wang

  10. I got a similar email too, i reported it to yahoo.

  11. 发送时间:10-06-22 09:23:40
    收件人:Judy
    主题:Re: (ffablaze)Notice of Domain Names Property Protection 2010-6-22

    Another one here…

    Email for you :)

    Judy@domainasia.cc

  12. Here is another one I received this morning.
    Same scam but not from the same company….

    _________________________________________________
    From: Michael.Zhang
    Sent: Tue, 12/10/2010 05:30
    Subject: Urgent!!! e-romagnoli-Network Application Declaration

    (If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward to the right person/ department, as this is urgent, thank you.)

    Dear CEO,

    We are the department of registration service in China. we have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on Oct.12, 2010, One company which is called ” Revar Investment Co., Ltd.” is applying to register “e-romagnoli” as brand name and domain names as below :
    e-romagnoli.cn
    e-romagnoli.com.cn
    e-romagnoli.net.cn
    e-romagnoli.org.cn
    e-romagnoli.tw
    e-romagnoli.com.tw
    e-romagnoli.hk
    e-romagnoli.com.hk
    e-romagnoli.asia
    e-romagnoli.in

    After our initial checking, we found the brand name and these domain names being applied are as same as your company’s, so we need to confirm with your company. If the aforesaid company is your business partner or your subsidiary company, please DO NOT reply us, we will approve the application automatically. If you have no any relationship with this company, please contact us within 7 workdays. If out of the deadline, we will approve the application submitted by “Revar Investment Co., Ltd.” unconditionally.

    Best Regards,

    Micheal.Zhang
    Senior consultant

    2010-10-12

  13. Thanks, they play the same game to different people who own a domain. Thanks for your article and it alert me too. Thanks!

  14. I got the same message here in Brazil from Ben Zhang. Thanks for ths Post.

  15. Have had similar from Henry Wang representing http://www.meyinet.info.

Leave Comment